RSS Feed

Life in the Present Moment.

Yesterday was all about the past, so it makes sense for today to be about the here and now, no?

I’m a very “live in the moment” type of person. It’s really the only thing we have, the only thing we can grasp onto for the time being.  The present moment is the scent of the wind, the way the trees sway, the suffocating touch of the humidity on our bodies.  I like it here. I don’t have to worry about what lies behind door number two (the future) or what bothered me yesterday (fine, sometimes the same things bother me for days on end, but hello! I’m not the Buddha or anything, but I try, so therefore, I deserve credit).

The only problem with the present moment is that it can get you into trouble quite quickly if you are not careful. Since you’re in the here and now, you tend to have no regrets and (think you) face no consequences. It’s great at the moment, but sometimes it tends to make the future a bit of a pain. For example, my “present living” has helped to keep me in college for a shade under 8 or so years now.  This is a result from liking one subject one day, and another the next. The upside is that I have learned a great deal of (useless) information about a great deal of (useless) subjects. The bad part is that it’s left me with a whole lot less money and a whole bunch of credits still to complete if I ever want to have my name plastered on a fancy sheet of paper. 

My “living in the present” motto has also kept me at my job for just a shade under 7 years as well. Is this good or bad? Um… that’s yet to be determined. Every day, I just wake up and go there like the good little drone I am, thinking to myself “this won’t last forever.” My “forever” however, is “forever” during that exact day. I never seem to think about the “actual” forever, which in turn just leads me back to the same job the next day. So, do you see what I mean about “living in the present?” It’s an interesting adventure, that’s for sure.

Some other fun idiosyncrasies about living in the present:

 I say whatever is in my head at that exact moment, many times leading to very interesting looks from anyone nearby.

 My emotions change hourly. I may start the day in a rage but end it in bliss. SUPER fun if you’re my friend.

 I often end up really bored on weekends because I fail to plan to do anything.

 My car’s gas light comes on a lot because I feel I don’t need to get gas until that exact moment.

 If you make plans with me in advance (oh, you silly thing, you!), I will often cancel them because it seemed like a good idea at the time (that present moment), but not now.

 Ok, so after reading that, you may be dialing your local psychologist to refer me, but please, you know I’ll never keep that appointment!!

 I’ll leave you with these lovely quotes about the present moment (mainly to reinforce the fact that I am not crazy):

 Life is all memory, except for the one present moment that goes by you so quickly you hardly catch it going  Tennessee Williams

 Life can be found only in the present moment. The past is gone, the future is not yet here, and if we do not go back to ourselves in the present moment, we cannot be in touch with life. Thich Nhat Hanh

  You’ll seldom experience regret for anything that you’ve done. It is what you haven’t done that will torment you. The message, therefore, is clear. Do it! Develop an appreciation for the present moment. Seize every second of your life and savor it. Wayne Dyer

  Present-moment living, getting in touch with your now, is at the heart of effective living. When you think about it, there really is no other moment you can live. Now is all there is, and the future is just another present moment to live when it arrives. Wayne Dyer

 Life lived for tomorrow will always be just a day away from being realized. Leo Buscaglia

We are always getting ready to live but never living.
Ralph Waldo Emerson

2 responses »

  1. ChocolateLover

    ((( Standing Ovation ))) This is by far the best blog you have written yet and YOU have written PHENOMENAL Blogs! I pray to God that somebody realizes how brilliant you are and hires you to write for them. OR that you write your own book! You are SOOOO intelligent & VERY ENTERTAINING!! I’m really glad you have this blog! I look forward to what you have to say daily!
    🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

