RSS Feed

I travel for the sake of travel.

There are two things in this world that seem worthy of my dollars: food and travel, not necessarily in that order (even better– new food while traveling).

 Travel is food for the soul. It breaks you out of your day to day routine. It plops unexpected circumstances in your lap, it makes you think outside the box, it forces you to take a different route. It does this not only in the literal sense, but also to your mind. Travel opens up the mind the way few things can (few legal things, anyway).

  I like to wander and people watch. I like to look for the similarities and the differences in my “known world” (home), and the world I am currently stationed in (AKA– my vacation destination).  Often times they are small details, things that you would ultimately miss if you stayed on some rigid guide book planned itinerary. I like to find what captures the essence of a place, be that the people, the food, or some off the beaten path find.  The essence of a place is what opens your mind and makes you say “I never thought of it that way,” or “I’m inspired by the way this happens.”  The essence is what you take home as a 3 dimensional souvenir (I know, I know, collecting shot glasses is fun, and yes, you can bring them back, too). 

 Travel is the ultimate “living in the present” exercise. You are going to a place where no one knows you;  you are free to act how you wish, with no worries that someone will judge you on Monday for it (unless, of course, you post it on Facebook or something).  You are free of the past, and of the future. You can literally live your life day to day from moment to moment.

 I will be traveling this week… so my writing may be sporadic or it may be a deluge of posts. Who knows? I’ll let the moments decide.

Some quotes on traveling that totally capture what I’m trying to convey here (you know I love quotes!):

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover. – Mark Twain

 Travel is more than the seeing of sights; it is a change that goes on, deep and permanent, in the ideas of living. – Miriam Beard

 Once you have traveled, the voyage never ends, but is played out over and over again in the quietest chambers. The mind can never break off from the journey. – Pat Conroy

(What? I really like quotes, ok!! And yes, I find them for everything. It’s a sickness, I know.)

3 responses »

  1. ChocolateLover

    You should write for a Travel Magazine b/c I’d go where you wrote about. Now I’m thinking about where I should go – even if it’s just for a few days! Nice blog – thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

