RSS Feed

Pay me in the currency of experience

Life is sometimes a blur. We plod through, our mind elsewhere, overwhelmed. We’re stressed, in a rush, annoyed, frustrated, or all of the above.  We are lulled into a walking slumber by the everyday routine.  We show up to unfulfilling jobs because they fill our wallets. It’s a necessity in life. Like it or not, we do it; we are all guilty.

What if, though, we were paid by what we experienced, instead of by the hour? How would our lives be different? Would we be more alert, alive and (dare I say…) happy? Would we pay more attention? Would we break from the “day to day monotony” and create some new, interesting style or concept of routine? Or would we simply be more present and alive in our “day to day monotony?”  Would the monotony no longer be the monotony? If, suddenly, you valued your morning coffee purchasing event at your local coffee joint like you got paid for it, do you think you’d be friendlier, smile more, and engage the clerk in random, meaningless (actually– meaningful) conversation? You might… but then again, you might not. Maybe you’d be too eager to move on, get to the next experience, always searching for the biggest payout.

I frequently like to pay myself in the currency of experience. Maybe I’m an “experience junkie,” so to speak. I like to see, touch, do—the more the better. I also like to stop, look and listen, taking it all in. I’ll take the long way home, I’ll literally stop and smell the flowers… why the hell not? Why not linger in the soft scent of jasmine, courtesy of random bunches of flowers springing up before me on my path, lifting ever so slightly in the breeze to leave me romantically intoxicated by the time I get home.  It makes for a better story than saying “I shaved 5 whole minutes off my commute today” doesn’t it?  Sometimes we miss out on life because we think we can’t take a risk, or deviate from the plan, or spend our last dollar to travel, or to do something we know would make us happy… but for some reason we would never miss out on an opportunity to get paid.  I think, perhaps, sometimes we just need to re-evaluate and see which path we’d gain more from.

Me? I’ll take the jasmine path every time, my friends. I hope I see you there.

3 responses »

  1. So lovely, Lisa, o you know, I used to be that girl!! But job, marriage, kids, house, payments, traffic, uggh, I mean everything just come in the path, but trust me, I make sure they are all laid out in the Jasmine path! “If, suddenly, you valued your morning coffee purchasing event at your local coffee joint like you got paid for it, do you think you’d be friendlier, smile more, and engage the clerk in random, meaningless (actually– meaningful) conversation?”
    I like the idea, let’s patent it together and create a company, and become rich by selling “experiences”! Maybe that is a way of making this world cheerful?? What do you say.. Ha ha, we are such dreamers!!

    Reply
  2. I enjoyed this blog & the responses – Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

