RSS Feed

In Search of Inspiration, I Wander.

 

Sometimes it’s tough to be a writer. Never mind the steep competition and the lack of pay and the undying urge to put words on paper, those are just minor idiosyncrasies.  We suffer from an endless stream of words swirling through our minds, our brains working overtime to try and string them together in a way that makes them stand out, in a way that takes other people to the moment, gives them a connection. We are emotional, guarded and always thinking. We are constantly in search of new inspiration to keep our thoughts fresh and original.  It is sometimes a love/hate thing, I must admit, as being an office drone sometimes impedes my thoughts, stomps on the inspiration.  I know you’re thinking, what, those beige walls don’t inspire you? Impossible! But yes, friends, it’s true—I need more than beige walls and ugly carpet to get the creative juices brewing.  So, when even my favorite muse can’t come through for me, I go searching. I wander to old places, new places. I explore, and lately, I capture it on film. The still shot of a moment etched in a photograph enchants me. I love the simplicity, the way time is frozen on film. There are no detailed words, only images, feeding our imagination, letting our mind feast on the unknown.  An endless array of thoughts and questions come to mind. Was it loud there? What time of day was it? What aromas filled the air? Who walked by? Did anyone walk by? What did the air feel like? Was the sidewalk silent? Busy? Were there snippets of conversation floating around your ears? The questions go on and on and on….

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 responses »

  1. I spent years constantly thinking about writing and doing bits of creative writing whenever possible. I would have loved the blog option during my years of being in the work force. However, the time would have been an issue!

    I loved the shot that includes the curved railing with the round knob on top. I share your appreciation for lines, angles and shapes.

    Reply
  2. Very nice! Love what you wrote and I love the photographs! The one with the gate and two curved tops, I thought of Two lovers trying to connect to make a heart. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

